Wayne Brady's improv performance at the WriteGirl Character & Dialogue Workshop on April 16, 2016. Video by Dream Team Directors.

Celebrated actors brought our WriteGirl teens' scenes to life on the Hollywood stage at our annual Lights, Camera, WriteGirl! benefit.

Actors included Wendi McLendon-Covey (The Goldbergs), Keiko Agena (Gilmore Girls), Aasha Davis (Friday Night Lights), Trevor St. John (Containment) and Tembi Locke (Eureka), Vik Sahay (Chuck) and Ted Cannon (Bonnie Blake: Parole Officer ).

The evening included commentary by notable screenwriters, including Jill Weinberger (Chicago Fire), Liz Kruger (Necessary Roughness)Clare Sera (Blended), Jane Anderson (Olive Kitteridge), Josann McGibbon (Descendants) and Jessica Goldstein (Telenovela), Maiya Williams (Haunted Hathaways) Rachel Feldman (Beyond the Break) and Courtney and Kelley Turk (The Secret Life of the American Teenager).

The 2016 Lights, Camera, WriteGirl! Host Committee includes:

Nancy Meyers, Josann McGibbon, Jane Anderson, Jennifer Hoppe, Toni Graphia, Margaret Stohl, Christina Lynch, Jessica Goldstein, Liz Kruger, Maiya Williams, Susan Dickes, Terri Miller and Clare Sera.

At this red carpet event, invited actors performed scenes and monologues written by our WriteGirl teens earlier that day with the guidance and hands-on support of renowned women screenwriters. The evening also included a silent auction, delectable food/drinks, and surprise special guests! 




Next Lights, Camera, WriteGirl!

Saturday, May 20, 2017
6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.


Linwood Dunn Theater
1313 Vine Street
Hollywood, CA 90028   View map



  • 6:30 pm Cocktail reception, silent auction
  • 7:00 pm Red carpet arrivals (reception and auction continues)
  • 7:30 - 9 pm Performances by acclaimed actors, commentary by prominent screenwriters
  • 9pm - 9:30 pm Dessert reception